---
title: "Lock time periods"
canonical: "https://support.appfire.com/space/7TFM/2152596238/Lock%20time%20periods"
format: markdown
---
> Macro (aura-html)

The **Lock Time Periods** feature allows admins to lock time periods for editing, ensuring that time-tracking data remains accurate and reliable. This feature is handy when admins generate reports at the end of a reporting period and want to prevent any adjustments from being made. 

> 📝 **Note**: The Approval Periods app includes specific permissions for Administrators and Managers:
> 📝 
> 📝 - 7pace Managers: Can access Approval Periods and approve timesheets for individual users, offering teams greater flexibility.
> 📝 - 7pace Administrators: Can perform all of the same functions as Managers, and can also lock approval periods and configure approval period settings.
> 📝 
> 📝 See <u>[Roles and Permissions](https://appfire.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/7TFM/pages/2153119920)</u> for more information on the different 7pace user types.

## Watch the video

The following video introduces the Lock Time Period feature.

## Requirements

There are a few required configurations you need to complete in order to lock time periods. These are detailed below. 

### Create an approval schedule

> Macro (include)

After saving the schedule, the app creates new weekly time periods based on the selected date. For example, if you select Monday, April 15, as the first time period, all future time periods begin on Mondays (April 22, April 29, etc.).

Similarly, if you select a monthly cadence and select April 1 as the first start date, subsequent start dates are May 1, June 1, July 1, etc.

### Add Time Periods view

> Macro (include)

### Verify Permissions

> Macro (include)

## Approval Periods summary

After saving an approval schedule, the **7pace - Approval Periods** page displays a summary of the new time period.

![Time periods summary with a link to All Times view.](media://312240c1-6907-43ae-ad40-6664e4eba722)

At the far right, you can click the icon to see the time period in the *All Times* view, which shows the work logs for that time period.

![All Times view with active worklogs for the time period.](media://7cb1c05a-aef6-48d4-abf5-2f0d737593de)

## Lock time

To lock time for a defined period, click the button on the summary page.

![image-20250410-210708.png](media://c484e95f-ceb4-41c1-b563-8bfc6fdb6beb)

The lock time dialog box displays, alerting you that time will be locked for everyone and that, once locked, no one can add or edit worklogs for this time period. 

![The Lock time dialog box.](media://9b4e062d-3af3-4360-aeed-f5ec67ebd0b9)

Click **Yes, lock time**. Now, the time period summary displays the date time was locked and the user who locked the time period. There is also an option to **Unlock time**.

![The time period summary indicates who locked the time period and the date it was locked.](media://c0f05468-113c-41a3-ad6d-d038600ee071)

Now, time tracking is globally locked for the defined time period. For example, in *Weekly* view, there's a lock icon next to each locked day.

![A lock icon displays in Weekly view.](media://76105269-6396-4827-8a5a-d8280e56cbcf)

You can see logged time but can't change or add time.

![Worklogs cannot be edited for locked time periods.](media://eb279ce5-9b02-4662-bbcc-c279bcf48b01)

Time is also locked in all other views, including *Monthly*, *Timesheets*, *All Times*, and *Item*. 

![7pace displays a message when attempting to add time to a locked time period in Item view.](media://97c7de99-c5c3-40ac-ba67-f2be88a4b3a7)


> ℹ️ Time cannot be added to a locked period from any view.

## Unlock Time

Use the following steps to unlock a time period:

1. Click **7pace - Time Periods** > **Unlock Time.**
2. A message indicates that unlocking the time period allows users to add or edit worklogs for that time period.
3. Click **Yes, unlock time**.

## Split Time Periods

Use the Split Time Periods feature to manage multiple time period cadences. For example, an administrator might lock time periods on a weekly basis but have another reporting schedule or billing period that operates on a monthly cadence. In this example, there could be a weekly schedule in April where the last day of the month falls on a Wednesday. The monthly time period needs to be locked on Wednesday, April 30, but the last weekly time period must remain unlocked in the first few days of May.

![The last week of the month in April, where a split time period is required.](media://4c27b8a0-b2ad-442a-a8a1-0af8095ea314)

When you enable the split time period option, another field, **Split day**, displays where you can select the specific day the split should automatically occur. There are three options for the **Split day** field:

1. 15th of the month
2. Last day of the month
3. Custom

When you select **Custom**, the **Custom split day **calendar displays, allowing you to specify the split date.

![The Split Day and Custom Split Day fields.](media://UNKNOWN_MEDIA_ID)

Once the defined day arrives, 7pace automatically splits the running time period, allowing you to lock the time before the split. 

When a split time period is defined, it’s denoted by the following icon.

![The split time period icon on the time period summary page.](media://cc8c2cd1-6138-4fb7-a46a-3e8b96f91bef)

## Reset Time Periods

The **Reset all time periods** feature allows administrators to reset their time period schedules. For example, an administrator tests the feature and then wants to remove the time period from the app. Use the following steps to reset a time period.

1. Navigate to **App Settings** > **Time Periods**.
2. At the bottom of the time period in question, click **Reset all time periods**.
  
3. The Reset all time periods window displays. Note that all time periods will be deleted and the schedule will be removed from the app. Also, this action cannot be undone. Type the word **Confirm**."
  
4. Click the **Yes, reset** button.
5. A message displays indicating the time period was removed.

## Settings

To change existing time periods, navigate to **App Settings** > **Time Periods**.

![The time period schedule displays in Settings, Time Periods.](media://7488f930-1ff8-4ce9-bb7a-35f6bffb527d)

Here, changes can be made to future time periods, and you can disable a time period schedule. Disabling a time period keeps previous time periods in place and respects their locked state, but it doesn’t automatically create new time periods. Once you disable a time period, the following message displays:

![The Disable time periods dialog box. Click Yes, disable to deactivate the time period.](media://3f1bfc70-25ad-49d4-81ca-f113766e1476)

Click **Yes, disable** to deactivate the time period.

![image-20250411-175934.png](media://fd75bdf5-f540-40b3-a7e7-2e31aa6dfbba)

If you re-enable the time period, make sure to define a new start date.