---
title: "Fields"
canonical: "https://support.appfire.com/space/BGc/3539961364/Fields"
format: markdown
---
> Macro (aura-html)

This section changes the task field synchronization settings and enables additional features, such as comments and notifications, which facilitate team communication.

Modify the mapping of this section to synchronize task attributes with the appropriate external tool fields. When enabled, task synchronization is bi-directional and instant. For example, if you move a task using the Gantt module, the **Start Date** and **End Date** fields will be updated. Conversely, if you edit the Start Date or End Date fields using the Jira card of a task, the task changes will be updated and visible in the Gantt module.

General mapping affects all tasks unless you add custom mapping for specific projects.

For boxes based on a single Jira project, field mapping can be easily changed:

- From the level of an individual box
- Directly from a box context and a Jira project context

> 📝 For boxes based on multiple Jira projects, the field mapping is configured on the** App configuration > General > Fields **page.
> 📝 
> 📝 Synchronization of the app values with a task source:
> 📝 
> 📝 - Values stored in a connected integration (such as Jira) can be synchronized with the app. For example, the **Original Estimate** Jira field can be synchronized with the app’s **End Date** field.
> 📝 - Values that aren't being synchronized are stored exclusively in the app’s database.

## Conditions

The scope definition of a box must be simple, meaning limited to a single Jira project.

If a box is based on multiple Jira projects and you click the **Field mapping** button, you are redirected to the** **App configuration > General > Fields page.

![image2022-3-23_8-40-39.png](media://8fc2ca90-41c4-4e5e-99ee-201da5ea7d80)

## Security and access

To change the field mapping, you must have sufficient permissions in the app and Jira.

Acceptable app permissions:

- Box Admin
- App Admin
- App Resource Admin** **

Acceptable Jira permissions: 

- Jira project Admin
- Jira Admin

> ℹ️ If there is more than one project in a box, you need Jira admin permission to preview or edit field mapping.
> ℹ️ 
> ℹ️ ![image-20240209-093351.png](media://540a820c-a22a-47c9-ba0d-53e8e8849051)

1. Click the **wrench **icon at the top right and select** General** from the drop-down list.
2. Next, go to the **Fields** tab.

## General mapping

> ℹ️ You **can’t** use the same field more than once. For example, if the **Due Date** field is mapped as the** End Date **of your task, you cannot select this field for any other mapping within a configuration of the same Jira Project. This applies to the following field mappings:
> ℹ️ 
> ℹ️ - Start Date
> ℹ️ - End Date
> ℹ️ - Baseline Start Date
> ℹ️ - Baseline End Date

Every connection has separate settings used for mapping. That includes each Jira instance, Trello workspace, etc.

Each instance connection can be expanded. Upon expanding, you can see the field mapping settings of the particular instance.

![Screenshot of the Fields page in BigPicture App Configuration.](media://016b9529-75da-437a-88fa-b96133de23da)

### Platform differences

Field mapping possibilities depend on the product (Jira vs. Trello). 

**Jira:**

![Screenshot of defining Jira mapping in BigPicture App Configuration.](media://16b2c32a-7a0b-4655-939c-372b963008ab)

**Trello:**

![Screenshot of defining Tello mapping in BigPicture App Configuration.](media://12d3134a-01f1-4c58-8286-757462351246)

## Custom mapping (per Jira project)

Customize your synchronization settings by creating a separate configuration scheme for a Jira project. When you do that, general settings will no longer apply to this project.

> ℹ️ Custom synchronization is created per Jira project - not per box. This means you can have tasks from different projects with different mappings in the same box.

To add custom mapping for a selected project:

1. Switch to the **Custom mapping** tab.
2. Click **Add Project**.
3. Select a project from the drop-down menu.
4. Click **Add and configure**.
5. Customize synchronization settings for a project.
6. Click **Save** to confirm.
7. The list of projects with custom synchronization is displayed once the new synchronization is saved.

![Screenshot of defining custom mapping in BigPicture App Configuration.](media://7e779619-8914-4382-9a08-7eceb0784423)

> ℹ️ When you map a new Trello instance connection, its **Start Date** and **End Date** fields are set to **Not Synchronized **by default.
> ℹ️ 
> ℹ️ This means that when you change the dates of your Trello tasks in BigPicture, the changes will not be transferred to Trello (and vice versa).
> ℹ️ 
> ℹ️ The mappings need to be set manually when connecting with Trello.
> ℹ️ 
> ℹ️ You can leave the **Not Synchronized** status if you don't want to set dates from the BigPicture level.

## How to access the field mapping?

### From a box context

**Method 1:**

> Macro (excerpt)
> 
> 1. Click the **wrench icon** at the top right.
> 2. Select **Field mapping** from the list.

**Method 2:**

> Macro (excerpt)
> 
> 1. Click the **cog** icon.
> 2. Click the **Field mapping** button.
> 3. Now, you can:
>   1. Restore default settings
>   2. Reset to defaults
>   3. Make changes
> 4. When ready, click **Save**.

### From a Jira project context

Go to a **Jira project:**

1. On the left, select the **BigPicture widget**.
2. Click the **wrench icon** at the top right.
3. Select **Field mapping** from the list.

![image-20240207-090141.png](media://a95068f4-2322-4615-80bb-80febc2e7eca)

## Field mapping

### Current setup info

In the dialog, you can see the current field mapping of a project:

![image](media://d2a654f4-974b-4066-87a1-7d1e202db44b)

At the top, you can see info regarding the current setup. The message lets you know if a **custom configuration** (custom mapping) exists for a project.

If a project uses the **default configuration** settings, it means a custom configuration doesn't exist for a project yet. The project is using the default mapping. 

![image](media://88a60c51-b9e2-487d-a19b-b33425a640d4)

If a project uses the **custom configuration** settings, it means a separate, independent mapping exists. 

![image](media://51e6a938-16df-48ad-8cee-eb05c15eeb45)

### Make changes

When you modify the mapping and save changes:

- The custom configuration is created, **OR**
- The existing custom configuration is updated.

![image-20240207-090410.png](media://a919a90e-b8dc-46bf-a4c3-161e7bdf9f96)

### Restore default settings

You can always remove the custom configuration and return to the default configuration.

![image-20240207-090505.png](media://97ed53f9-c81a-4cb8-98b6-68a8bb49ac33)

### Reset to defaults

If you click **Reset to defaults**, all custom settings will be overwritten with default settings.

> ⚠️ The action **CANNOT** be undone.

![image-20240207-090608.png](media://76f99108-b6bc-4789-a7d1-679ea4b44d87)

### Field mapping (App configuration)

An App Admin can access and modify the default configuration in the **App Configuration** > **General** > **Fields** section.

![image](media://c08d4775-77bf-4409-ab0d-6450c1570172)

### Field mapping reminders

The app prompts you to check the field mapping:

- when you add or remove projects in the scope

- when you make an edit to a built-in field that does not have mapping.

## Limitations

- **Box editors** and **box viewers** have read-only access to the field mapping of a box. The field mapping option is greyed out for them.