---
title: "Document Activity Upgrade"
canonical: "https://support.appfire.com/space/COMALACDCLS/649696436/Document%20Activity%20Upgrade"
format: markdown
---
> Macro (aura-html)

## Overview

From **Comala Document Control 2.0**, workflow events and activities are recorded as document activity for new spaces when a workflow is applied to a document in the space, and existing spaces without an applied workflow (prior to installation of the data center-only app). Existing spaces, with an applied workflow, created prior to the installation of v2.0, must have their legacy workflow page activity data upgraded to use document activity.

The **Document Activity Upgrade console** lets a Confluence global administrator manage the upgrade of workflow data to use **Document Activity** in your data center instance. The console lists spaces in their instance with their current data upgrade status.

![documentactivityupgradeconsole_extract_spaceswithdifferentupgradestatus.png](media://26843e37-6d0b-424a-9c8e-5c5c94a0ed09)

The global administrator can:

- **Run checks** to validate the existing workflow activity in a space, and
- **Upgrade** a space to use **document activity**
- Use **Revert Upgrade** to roll back the data upgrade in a space

> ℹ️ **Read Only Mode** must be enabled to undertake the data upgrade or the revert upgrade processes.

## Document Activity Upgrade console

In **Confluence Administration**

- Choose **Comala Document Control >** **Upgrade Activity**

![image](media://8bd5335a-a01b-43bf-a716-7c28684e726d)

The console identifies the spaces that have pages with activity and that need upgrading.

![cdcdc_documentactivityupgradeconsole.png](media://23206539-5e17-461b-96b2-e85d0fc41ec8)

For spaces that need upgrading, the console displays:

- Number of spaces
- List of the spaces
- Total number of pages in each space
- Total number of pages with workflow activity in each space
- Current update check status

If a space was created after the installation of v2.0+ for Data Center, the **Status** is set as:

- **No upgrade required. Space created using new capabilities**.

![documentactivityupgradeconsole_status_noupgrade required_space_created_with_new_capabilities.png](media://a7a18a4b-8d3a-4a2a-8268-b11b60fd1a48)

## Upgrade check

To run the upgrade checks

- Select one or more spaces listed in the console
- Choose **Run checks**

A progress bar displays the progress of the upgrade checks for each selected space. A global administrator can cancel an in-progress upgrade check by clicking on the upgrade check progress bar for each individual space.

![image](media://1d4a40f6-79a8-42b6-ace9-58bc38b4e896)

This can be done, for example, to mitigate any performance impact.

The **Upgrade** status column displays the successful validation of the upgrade checks for each space, including the date and time of the check and the duration of the upgrade.

![cdcdc_documentactivityupgradeconsole_checksrun.png](media://4d7f8237-59cc-4a70-80c9-aca5a9c56d7e)

Each space upgrade check runs in parallel, and starting a large number of checks at the same time might impact performance.

## Upgrade check errors

Pre-upgrade validation errors for a space are displayed in the **Upgrade status** column.

![cdcdc_docactivityupgrade_check_unsuccessful_status_entry.png](media://a366c0b9-8ebb-48cc-8190-50c8d552af3a)

> ℹ️ The console also displays a warning message banner when check errors are detected in one or more spaces.

This includes

- Date and time of the validation check
- Estimated time duration for any upgrade
- Number of pages in space where errors where validation errors were found

A button to download a **Support Package** is also shown for spaces with one or pages with an upgrade check validation error.

If a validation check error occurs:

- Download the **Support Package** for each space with a validation error
- Review the pages with validation errors and update the pages, for example, remove page-level restrictions for the user running the check
- Re-run the upgrade check

If you need help, contact [Appfire Support](http://appf.re/support) and include the **Support Package** as an attachment to the request.

## Data upgrade process

After installing the data center-only version of the app, one or more spaces can be upgraded in the document activity upgrade console

- Set **Read-only mode** in the Confluence data center instance to run the data upgrade or revert upgrade process
- Choose the **Upgrade** button to run data pre-check and upgrade in a single action

> ℹ️ The **Run Checks** option can be selected to run document activity upgrade checks on selected spaces - this option does not require **Read-only** mode.

### Enable Read-only mode

In Confluence global administration, under **Administration**

- Choose **Maintenance**

![readonlymodeglobaladmin_off.png](media://d6bea54e-d891-4b41-aca7-c353fbdfe3b3)

- Select **Edit**
- Check the box to enable **Read-only** mode

![readonlymode_globaladmin_checked.png](media://b15fdda9-88de-4cb3-847b-37daf873cc98)

- choose **Submit**

> 📝 The site banner message is enabled by default when enabling **Read-only** mode.

Navigate to the Comala app global **Upgrade Activity** screen.

> ℹ️ All spaces with workflow events on at least one page or blog post are listed with their current data status: **Check not started**, **Check successful**, **Upgrade successful**, **Upgrade unsuccessful,** **Check unsuccessful**.

- Check the checkbox for each space(s) to be upgraded

![cdcdc_documentactivityupgradeconsole_extract_runchecks_upgrade_selected_onespace_selected_checknotstarted_status.png](media://b73d010f-71e4-4d07-8d97-f7dbb6bb94ea)

- Choose **Upgrade**

> ℹ️ The **Status** column displays a progress bar for each space chosen to be upgraded in the current upgrade action.

![cdcdc_documentactivityupgradeconsole_extract_upgrade_inprogress_onespace.png](media://4eb74988-b163-42ed-bd0d-54b3b21e04f9)

When the process is complete, the **Status **column displays the upgrade status, date, and time of the upgrade, and duration of the process.

![cdcdc_documentactivityupgradeconsole_extract_upgrade_successful_onespace.png](media://db1a8ece-8d8a-4237-a45d-d70099e057f0)

> 📝 Remember to make **Read Only Mode** inactive after completing the data **Upgrade** process.

New spaces created or later automatically use document activity (and there is no need to run any data upgrade process)

![cdcdc_documentactivityupgradeconsole_extract_newspace_noupgraderequired_usingnewcapabilities.png](media://fa49ba2b-bbde-49c1-807f-1bc29b3a9cb7)

Existing spaces with no previous workflow activity automatically use document activity on applying a workflow to any page in the space. The space is then displayed with a **Status** of **No upgrade required**.

## Roll back a document activity data upgrade

A global administrator can choose the **Revert Upgrade **option in the Document Activity Upgrade console to roll back a space that has been upgraded to use document activity to record workflow events and activities.

This reverts the workflow event and activity history in a selected space to use page activity and updates the **Document Activity Upgrade Status** to indicate that the workflow data has not been upgraded to use document activity.

> 📝 The data upgrade rollback action deletes any recorded workflow activity data used in the document activity report for the space, but this is not lost, as your workflow events are recorded in the page activity report.

In Confluence global administration, to revert the document activity data upgrade in a selected space:

- Set the instance to **Read-Only Mode**
- Navigate to the** Document Activity Upgrade** console
- Use a checkbox to select a space (only one space can be selected)
- Choose **Revert Upgrade**

![cdmc_documentactivityupgradecopnsole_extract_revertupgrade_spaceselected.png](media://5eeb8cc1-9bfe-4c7a-90c4-c16db73e44dd)

> 📝 Only one space can be selected for **Revert Upgrade**. Checking more than one space deselects the **Revert Upgrade** option.

Confirm the **Revert Upgrade** in the dialog box.

![cdmdc_documentactivityconsole_revertupgrade_confirm_dialogbox.png](media://dca3873f-b887-46cc-aeb3-a8245d3b057e)

When the **Revert Upgrade** is complete, the space is set as **Check not started**.

![cdmdc_docuemntactivityupgradeconsole_extract_singelspace_checknotstarted.png](media://5f426e09-75b0-4d54-96e2-d5160c976f6c)

On completion of the rollback of the data upgrade:

- No data related to the previous data upgrade is stored in Confluence
- Page activity is rendered for all the pages with workflow events and activities

After reverting the upgrade for a space, you can later run the data upgrade again.

> 📝 Remember to make **Read Only Mode** inactive after you have run the **Revert Upgrade** process.

## Related pages

> Macro (contentbylabel)