---
title: "Differences between the Forge app and the Connect app"
canonical: "https://support.appfire.com/space/COPYSP/2718859290/Differences%20between%20the%20Forge%20app%20and%20the%20Connect%20app"
format: markdown
---
Copy Space has moved to <u>[Atlassian’s Forge platform](https://developer.atlassian.com/platform/forge/)</u>, a major infrastructure upgrade that ensures better performance, scalability, and security compliance with Atlassian’s latest standards.

As a result, some behaviors have changed automatically due to differences in how Forge apps run and access content.

## What’s different

### Page ownership after copying

After the migration to Forge, pages created during a copy are now owned by the Copy Space app. Previously (in the Connect version), copied pages were owned by the user who initiated the copy.

This is due to how the permission structure works on the Forge architecture.

![image-20260113-061019.png](media://70750478-21ee-4030-83d1-97b99cebacb7)

### Copying restricted pages and spaces

In the Connect version, content access was based on the permissions of the user running the copy. In the Forge version, the app itself must have access to restricted content.

![image-20260113-111213.png](media://f970930b-2d2e-4a20-ac95-bb554067c362)

**What this means**

- Restricted pages or spaces will only be copied if the Copy Space app is explicitly added to their restrictions.
- If the app doesn’t have access, restricted content will be skipped.

This is a direct result of the Forge permission model and does not require any additional configuration for unrestricted content.