---
title: "Using Read Confirmations with Comala Publishing Cloud"
canonical: "https://support.appfire.com/space/CRCCL/655757084/Using%20Read%20Confirmations%20with%20Comala%20Publishing%20Cloud"
format: markdown
---
> Macro (aura-html)

## Overview

<span style="color: #172b4d">[Comala Publishing Cloud](https://appfire.atlassian.net/wiki/pages/createpage.action?spaceKey=CPCL&title=Welcome%20to%20Comala%20Publishing%20for%20Cloud)</span><span style="color: #172b4d"> provides between-space publishing to allow you to keep your draft space page content separate from finished work in a target space.</span>

When using [Comala Publishing Cloud](https://appfire.atlassian.net/wiki/pages/createpage.action?spaceKey=CPCL&title=Welcome%20to%20Comala%20Publishing%20for%20Cloud) to publish a draft page to a target space a read confirmation request added to the draft page will be retained on the page in the target space.

<span style="color: #172b4d">Publishing the page creates a new page version in the target space and the read confirmation request on the target space content</span>

- <span style="color: #172b4d">has no readers</span>
- <span style="color: #172b4d">can have readers assigned</span>

The target space page read confirmation is reset each time the page is published but *does not remove* the read confirmation history created on the target page.

## How does this work in each space?

#### Draft space

Read confirmation requests and assigned reader actions on the draft space page are **retained only in the history of the draft space page**.

Publishing the page only publishes the read confirmation request itself - the read confirmation history for the draft space page is not published to the target page.

#### Target public space

A draft space page with a read confirmation request is published with the added read confirmation.

- users assigned as readers in the draft source space page are not published
- draft source space page read confirmation history (pending, user confirmations) is not published

This allows the **retention** and** maintenance** of **a separate read confirmation history **for the** draft source space page **and the** published target space page**. 

> ℹ️ Adding users as readers to the target space page read confirmation does not cause the content to be **Out of Sync.**

> 📝 Publishing an update requires any confirmed reader confirmations for the target source page read confirmation to re-confirm reading the content for the new target space page version.

## What happens if a draft source space page update with the read confirmation removed is published to a target space page previously published with an added read confirmation?

The **publish action**

- removes the read confirmation and read confirmation byline from the target space page

However, the read confirmation history for the target space page is not lost.

Adding a read confirmation to the **target space page** using the page tools menu

- restores any previous read confirmation history for the target space page
- causes the target space page and draft source space page to be **Out of Sync**

Adding a read confirmation to the draft source space page and publishing to the target space page

- restores the previous target space page read confirmation history
- causes the target space page and draft source space page to be **Synced**

> ℹ️ All assigned readers will need to re-confirm including any readers who had confirmed prior to the update. All assigned readers will also receive an email notification asking them to undertake the read confirmation.