---
title: "Connect Trello"
canonical: "https://support.appfire.com/space/DLP/2212005140/Connect%20Trello"
format: markdown
---
> Macro (aura-html)

> ⚠️ New connections are temporarily unavailable. If you have already configured multiple connections, they will continue to work. However, you cannot create new connections at this time.

## About the Trello integration

You can connect BigPicture with platforms other than your Jira instance to plan and coordinate your team's work. Currently, you can connect to Trello Boards and another [Jira Cloud instance](https://appfire.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/DLP/pages/2212269374).

Once connected, you can add Trello Boards (including Cards, Lists, CheckItems, Checklists) to the scope of your boxes and have all your work in one place.

Each connection has dedicated sections to define the scope and types of synchronized tasks and the task structure.

## Security and access

You can connect a Trello instance using the** +Add new integration** button in:

- **Box configuration** >** Tasks **>** Scope definition**
- **App configuration **>** Integrations **>** Connections**

## Set up the connection

ou can add or remove connections from the box configuration or the App configuration pages. Once added, new sections appear on the Scope definition and Tasks structure pages of the box configuration and the Task structure page of the Box type configuration.

To connect Trello using the Box configuration page:

1. Click the **Add new integration**.
2. Select **Trello**.

Once you choose the platform, click the 'Add new connection' box. To add a new tool, you need to allow pop-ups in your browser as the authentication screen opens in a new window:

![Screenshot of adding a new integration on the Scope definition page.](media://ef42bebe-89ca-495e-872d-4ff6cfbb51c5)

Once you choose the platform, click the 'Add new connection' box. To add a new tool, you need to allow pop-ups in your browser as the authentication screen opens in a new window:

![image](media://112d5cd0-070f-48ba-9efd-d450b2f5b008)

You can connect your Atlassian and Trello accounts, so there is no need for additional authorization, but you can also switch to a different Trello account.  The next step is to accept the relevant policies and grant access to your Trello account:

![image](media://83f3aa57-fd10-4877-a0a4-ee644f05d830)

Next, select the team to connect with; let's choose the 'BigPicture' team and click the Connect button. The connection name is generated based on the team name, but you can rename it anytime.

![image](media://77075295-96ae-4f7b-b1c5-fc4f2922a4ec)

The new connection is now established and appears in the Connection box. Select the connection and click the 'Add' button:

![image](media://ef42bebe-89ca-495e-872d-4ff6cfbb51c5)

 You can now select from the list of available Boards and add different task types such as Cards, Lists, CheckItems, Boards, and Checklists. Let's choose the BigPicture Power-Up Public Board:

> ℹ️ By default, when you map a new Trello instance connection, its Start Date and End Date fields will be set to 'Not Synchronized.'
> ℹ️ 
> ℹ️ This means that when you change the dates of your Trello tasks in BigPicture, the changes will not be transferred to Trello (and vice versa).
> ℹ️ 
> ℹ️ The mappings need to be set manually when connecting with Trello.
> ℹ️ 
> ℹ️ You can leave the 'Not Synchronized' status if you don't want to set dates from the BigPicture level.

![image](media://1f40c84a-ac04-41ef-a7aa-f21bb9ac07b9)

To structure your Trello tasks, go to Box configuration > Tasks > Task structure page and activate the structure builder. Let's structure the tasks using the Boards and Lists structure builders, so it resembles the Trello board:

![image](media://b00de02b-f11c-4caf-aeb4-311fb576009e)

Now, let's compare the result using the Roadmap module with the connected Trello Board:

> ℹ️ There are different fields specific to the platform you connect, which you can add using the Column Views. Use the built-in fields added by the App, which show the information from all connected platforms.

Trello tasks in the Roadmap module:

![image](media://ba5e1c5b-9293-4c42-8c82-1a32fe6a4089)

Trello Board:

![image](media://ee8f8973-f870-4152-a65d-7d2e35732ffb)

## Trello field synchronization

When you map a new Trello instance connection, its **Start Date** and **End Date** fields are set to **Not Synchronized **by default. You can leave the **Not Synchronized** status if you don't want to set dates from the BigPicture level. This means that when you change the dates of your Trello tasks in BigPicture, the changes will not be transferred to Trello (and vice versa). 

The mappings need to be set manually when connecting with Trello.

Visit [https://appfire.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/DLP/pages/2212333295](https://appfire.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/DLP/pages/2212333295) to learn more.

![Screenshot of the Trello field mapping.](media://87a0e78b-bbe4-439e-ad38-3e7b443a3b78)

## Trello structure builders

When you connect to Trello, you will see an additional section with the specific structure builders. In the case of Trello, these include boards, lists, checklists, and checklist items. See the [https://appfire.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/DLP/pages/2211124630](https://appfire.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/DLP/pages/2211124630) page to learn more. 

![Screenshot of available structure builders for Trello.](media://60272b9a-4814-4da9-a04a-28ab4f684679)

## Terminate Trello connection

You can remove the connection from the list by clicking the '...' button next to the connection name > remove. 

> ℹ️ Before you terminate a connection, make sure that users confirm that it is no longer used. Otherwise, they will be required to redefine the scope and lose some of the current task structure.

![image2021-12-23_14-47-42.png](media://75e55573-fa40-49b1-a31d-0daf42ea7a0b)

## Connected instance requires your attention

The App works together with the connected tools (such as Jira or Trello). Certain situations may render this connection unusable - the App cannot correctly communicate with the connected instance. 

Causes:

- Authorization failed, for example:
  - Token expired
  - Application permissions have been revoked
- A valid installation of the App can't be detected:
  - The App hasn't been installed
  - The license expired or is otherwise invalid
  - The license is valid, but the pricing plan doesn't match it.