---
title: "Backup, restore, and migrate"
canonical: "https://support.appfire.com/space/DLP/2212266044/Backup%2C%20restore%2C%20and%20migrate"
format: markdown
---
> Macro (aura-html)

> ℹ️ A backup of the App creates a dump of the application database **only. **
> ℹ️ 
> ℹ️ It does not include Jira issue data (Jira backup is a separate process that results in a creation of a Jira backup file).

## Step-by-step instructions

> Macro (children)

## Jira backup vs. App restore

Jira and BigPicture store their data separately. 

Creating a dump of the App data IS NOT a Jira backup. 

BigPicture App Configuration > Advanced > **Database dumps** allow you to create (and download) a backup of the state of the BigPicture App.

![image2022-1-3_13-17-32.png](media://304e88b7-91a1-4ff4-b9ae-4e16d519ef2b)

## Server/Data center to Cloud migration (Jira)

> ✅ BigPicture migration from Jira On-premise to Jira Cloud can be run using:
> ✅ 
> ✅ - [Jira XML + BigPicture snapshot ](https://appfire.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/DLP/pages/298386635)
> ✅ - [Jira Cloud Migration Assistant (JCMA)](https://appfire.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/DLP/pages/297896980)

### Post-migration issues when the issue security settings are set

> ❌ If there are **issue security** settings set for issues on the Jira Server, BigPicture will lose access to such issues after migrating **company-managed** and **team-managed** projects to Jira Cloud.

In such a situation, perform the following steps after migration.

**For company-managed projects:**

1. Open Jira Cloud.
2. Navigate to the **Project settings > Issues > Issue security **page.
3. For each **issue security level** that is defined, add the following** project role**: ***atlassian-addons-project-access***
4. Click **Add** to confirm.
5. BigPicture now has access to issues.

**For team-managed projects:**

Currently, it is impossible to add roles on the **Issue Security **page due to [limitations on the Atlassian side](https://jira.atlassian.com/browse/JRACLOUD-79918).

## How does an App "restore" work?

An App restore **overwrites current app data** and replaces it with the state saved in the dump. There is no possibility of merging two different states of the app:

- you can't combine two dumps
- you can't amend an existing state

![image](media://55f4c01f-b034-493c-b826-eb8fb8b37d75)