---
title: "Scenario mode."
canonical: "https://support.appfire.com/space/DLP/297668364/Scenario%20mode."
format: markdown
---
| **Contents:**<br>> Macro (toc) |
| --- |

To find the optimal version of your plan, you have to consider multiple factors, such as risks and delays, and pay close attention to the availability and workload of your resources.

With the **Scenarios** feature, you can easily try out different variants of your plan, compare the results, and find the best one.

![Screenshot of the Scenario mode feature in the Gantt module of BigPicture.](media://19fba759-3d05-4499-b88d-539804b2c6d9)

## Plan work with scenarios

> ℹ️ You can create two scenarios per box:
> ℹ️ 
> ℹ️ - One public scenario
> ℹ️ - One private scenario
> ℹ️ 
> ℹ️ With [BigPicture Enterprise](https://marketplace.atlassian.com/apps/1215158/bigpicture-enterprise?tab=overview&hosting=cloud), you can have an unlimited number of scenarios.

### Create a new scenario

1. Click the scenario drop-down at the top.
2. Select **Create new scenario**.
3. Complete:
  1. Scenario name
  2. Color
  3. Adjust scenario visibility (toggle switch private/public)
4. Click **Create**.

### Edit scenario details

Click **Edit details** to change the scenario name, color, and public/private settings. 

![Screenshot of editing scenario details in the Gantt module.](media://3d0dd7dc-70ff-4675-8ee4-31504e7f7118)

### Adjust visibility

**Method 1**

Go to **Edit details** and adjust the toggle switch (see above).

**Method 2**

Adjust directly in the scenario dropdown by clicking on the eye icon :eye: 

### Delete a scenario

> ⚠️ This action can't be reversed.

To delete a scenario:

1. Click the scenario drop-down at the top.
2. Click **Delete scenario**.

### Switch between scenarios

Use the scenario drop-down at the top to switch between different scenarios and the live version.

> 📝 **Note**: 
> 📝 
> 📝 Private scenarios are visible only to the person who created them. Make a scenario public to share it with other users.

### Scenario history

The scenario history lets you track changes. Click on the change counter at the top-right corner of the scenario box to see the list.

![Screenshot of the scenario history button in the Gantt module.](media://91bd98be-641f-4e79-922b-6c00c8e52616)

![Screenshot of the scenario history window in the Gantt module.](media://d4fd04de-412f-46a8-881a-67f87daacec8)

## Changes supported by the scenario mode

| **Change** | **Gantt module** | **Resources module** |
| --- | --- | --- |
| **Start date**<br>Updates made in Task details or drag and drop action on the timeline + resizing. | :check_mark: | :check_mark: |
| **End date**<br>Updates made in Task details or drag and drop on the timeline + resizing. | :check_mark: | :check_mark: |
| **Scheduling mode**<br>Updates made in task details pop-up. | :check_mark: | :check_mark: |
| **Original estimate, Remaining estimate, Story points**<br>Updates made in task details pop-up. | :cross_mark: | :check_mark: |
| **Contouring mode, Workload contour**<br>Updates made in task details pop-up. | :cross_mark: | :check_mark: |
| **Summary**<br>Updates made in task details pop-up. | :cross_mark: | :check_mark: |

> ℹ️ To compare scenarios, you open a new window of your browser and set to “Live”.

## Merge to live

> ⚠️ This action can't be reversed.

Changes are synchronized with Jira or connected tools, such as Trello. 

**Method 1 **

Click **merge to live **at the top.

![Screenshot of the Merge to live button.](media://df3588c3-b2f3-4043-a666-3ec84f5cf2d6)

**Method 2** 

Select **merge to live **from the scenario drop-down.

![Screenshot of the Merge to live option from the scenario drop-down in the Gantt module.](media://855f4ebb-d84b-4378-a496-3cefe5d6c89c)

**Method 3** 

Click **Merge to live **in the **Scenario history **pop-up.

![Screenshot of the Merge to live button in the Scenario history window.](media://950d6094-0a0f-424d-bbd8-8d7ce82f815d)

## Affects

### Undo

If you have two tabs open (in one tab, Gantt is in the "Live" mode and, in another one, in the "Scenario" mode), the undo option is not available. 

### Disabled options

When scenario mode is activated, some actions are disabled in a right-click menu, and a tooltip appears as below.

![Screenshot of disabled options when the scenario mode is in use in the Gantt module.](media://4f333561-4b7c-4920-bf49-32d62d033bed)

### [Change history](https://appfire.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/DLP/pages/298225490)

Changes made in scenario mode are not logged until a scenario is merged into the live version.