---
title: "Archiving Boxes."
canonical: "https://support.appfire.com/space/DLP/297930799/Archiving%20Boxes."
format: markdown
---
| **Contents:**<br>> Macro (toc) |
| --- |

## Introduction

When a Box is no longer being used, it can be archived. Use this function if there are many Boxes in the App that are no longer being used—it might significantly improve the app's performance. 

By default, an archived Box will be hidden in the Overview module, making it easier to manage your current work without it getting in the way. Aggregations are no longer calculated for such a Box.

## Archiving Boxes

### Manually

<span style="color: #000c34">Box admin can manually Archive a Box in the Overview module.</span>

![Archive option in a box configuration](media://74b8c0fa-9ae3-485f-b70e-c12a48210809)

 <span style="color: #000c34">A success message will appear after a Box is archived:</span>

![Archivization confirmation message](media://53d39500-57da-4f5a-9e5b-c585c30bbf19)

Only the "Own" and "None" scope Boxes can be manually archived/restored. Relevant sub-boxes are automatically archived with the parent—archiving the parent automatically archives all its children. 

#### Limitations

- Boxes have to be archived in functional clusters. You can't archive a parent Box with "Own" scope if it has "sub-scope" child Boxes that are still active.
- You can't archive a context Box (a Box you are currently in)
- Root Box (Home Box of the App) cannot be archived

### Automatically

When enabled, the App will check if any user has used a given Box or any of its sub-boxes within a specified number of days. If the whole cluster of Boxes has not been used, they will all be automatically archived.

Auto Box archiving is enabled by default. Rules regarding automatic archiving of Boxes can be defined and changed in [App configuration > Modules >Overview](https://wiki.bigpicture.one/doc/app-configuration/modules/overview-configuration). 

![App Configuration](media://fffc133e-5ce5-4666-a116-cd91e5205513)

#### Limitations

1. Closed Boxes are not automatically archived. If one box in a cluster is "closed," none of the Boxes can be archived since they need to be archived simultaneously.
2. The auto-archiving feature **is NOT** applied to [sequential](https://appfire.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/DLP/pages/297636248) boxes with their [own scope](https://appfire.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/DLP/pages/296982489) type.

## Synchronization and scheduling of tasks

|  | **Task is only in archived Boxes**  
**(ALL Boxes that contain the task are "archived")** | **Task is in at least one active Box** |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Synchronization | The task is NOT synchronized | Task is synchronized |
| Scheduling | Scheduling block → The task period is unaffected by scheduling rules | The task period adjusts according to scheduling rules |

## Viewing Archived Boxes

Archived Boxes can be viewed in the Overview module after adjusting the view settings.

![Show archived boxes checkbox](media://d02026c2-39c3-41b4-a0ea-4512733c6ac7)

Archived Boxes are greyed out ([Timeline](https://appfire.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/DLP/pages/298060278) and [Hierarchy](https://appfire.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/DLP/pages/297995027) mode). 

![Archived box in the box list](media://7432be1c-6c9c-4262-b279-a13e4f0a7ee6)

You can also add an **Archived **column to the view:

![Archived column](media://f8cf815b-c79e-4677-a469-0cb4a886851d)

![Archived column](media://cb52574b-9d25-44c4-8903-eac97e0759a1)

Archived Boxes have a label (in the [Kanban](https://appfire.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/DLP/pages/296850369) mode).

![Archived box in kanban mode](media://f294c89a-187a-4068-9c13-42fb79962e8c)

Archived Boxes have a label when you access them [from a Jira project.](https://appfire.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/DLP/pages/297602987)

![Archived label in Jira](media://11fcd74b-0be9-4216-a4a8-182c7c9ccdbf)

In Box switcher, archived Boxes are greyed out and marked with an icon:

![Archived box in the box switcher](media://61cfa74e-d471-4171-af38-ef771572b61b)

You can hide/show them using a filter:

![Archived box in the box switcher](media://ba3d523f-baa8-473d-9f94-58550270ba3f)

##  Restoring Boxes

Boxes have to be restored manually in the "Overview" module:

- Once you restore an archived box, all its sub-boxes are restored, and the aggregations are re-calculated.
- On the Overview module, you can't restore Boxes if their parent Box is still Archived. The Restore button is disabled.

![Restoring option in the box configuration](media://55ffab6b-d5fc-4310-a1e5-74147e1767f3)

![Confirmation message for restoration](media://ef1a6ca1-3e0f-4933-88cb-ba299c4f497f)

## Archived box limitations

Once a box is archived, the aggregations can no longer be calculated, and the box will no longer contain valuable business information. 

If a task belongs only to Boxes that are **archived** or **closed**, then that task has a **scheduling block** placed on it. 

Box configuration cannot be accessed, box attributes cannot be edited, and inline editing of box column values is disabled.

![Archived box in the box list](media://fa7b13d8-7f82-4606-bb16-9c1476e4e6dd)