---
title: "Steps to take for Flow offboarding"
canonical: "https://support.appfire.com/space/FD/3512860789/Steps%20to%20take%20for%20Flow%20offboarding"
format: markdown
---
> Macro (aura-html)

As your organization reaches the [end of your Flow access](https://appfire.com/flow/info), there are several steps we recommend you take to smoothly offboard from Flow. These steps help ensure you:

- Retain helpful data and metrics from Flow.
- Gracefully disconnect your Flow integrations to avoid rate limit or credential issues.
- Ensure your users' access is removed in a timely manner.

Once your organization’s Flow access ends, you will lose all access to Flow, Flow data, and Flow settings. Ensure you’ve completed any necessary offboarding steps before you lose access.

## Extract Flow data via API

When your organization’s Flow access ends, you will lose all access to your Flow data, both in the UI and in the API. To avoid losing access to important data about your organization, we recommend extracting data early. In most cases, it’s best to identify what metrics you want to extract about a month before your access ends, then extract the data a week before your access ends. This ensures you are able to strategically get the data you need and have enough time to resolve any issues you may encounter.

We recommend browsing through the available [customer API references](https://appfire.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/FD/pages/1802600473), [metrics API references](https://appfire.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/FD/pages/1802403869), and [API guides](https://appfire.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/FD/pages/1802665985) to identify the available data and choose what you’re most interested in. For most customers, we recommend extracting monthly data for the last year for each team for your top few metrics from the metrics API endpoints. Team IDs can be extracted from the customer API.

To extract data from the Metrics API, you must have an active API key and the *Metrics API* permission. To extract data from the customer API, you must have an active API key and the API permission corresponding to the specific endpoint you’re attempting to extract data from. 

## Delete your integrations

Once you’ve successfully extracted the data you need, disconnect your integrations and delete your data. Neither of these steps is required, but they will disable Flow’s ability to gather data from your systems. You must have the **Manage integrations: View, manage, and delete** permission to delete integrations.

First, delete your integrations. To do this:

1. Navigate to the *Integrations* page.
2. Click the checkbox next to all integrations.
3. Click the **Actions*** *menu.
4. Click **Remove selected***.*
5. Click **Yes, remove integration data**.

> ⚠️ Deleting integrations can’t be reversed. If you choose to delete your integrations, be very sure you’ve already extracted all data you need from Flow. Once an integration is deleted, Flow can no longer use credentials to access data for that vendor.

We also recommend you revoke any Flow-specific API keys and OAuth access from your vendors once your integrations are deleted. This is not a required step, but will remove Flow access from your vendor side.

Depending on how many integrations you have and how much data Flow has ingested, it may take several hours or more to fully delete your data. No additional action is needed from you once you delete your integrations. Flow will continue to delete your data behind the scenes.

### Disconnect from API

If you have any active API keys, delete them. This ensures you will not have any services attempting to reach Flow once your access is removed. You must have the **Manage Org API keys** permission to delete other users' API keys.

To delete an API key:

1. Navigate to the *API Keys* page in settings.
2. Click the check box next to all API keys you want to delete.
3. Click *Delete.*
4. Confirm the deletion.

## Disable SSO and revoke user access

Flow automatically revokes access when your Flow access ends, but if you access Flow through a single sign-on provider, your IdP admin should remove Flow from the IdP when your Flow access ends, and remove any users from the group with access to Flow. This can happen at any point after your Flow access ends and is likely handled by your organization’s IT team.

Before your organization’s access ends, you can also remove your SSO configuration from Flow. If you do this, all users will immediately lose access to Flow. You will need to reach out to Appfire support if this is done prematurely.

To remove your SSO configuration:

1. Navigate to the *User settings* page.
2. Click the **SSO** tab.
3. Click the three dots icon next to your SSO configuration.
4. Click **Remove**.
5. Confirm the removal.

If you use username and password authentication instead of SSO authentication, you can revoke individual users’ access at any point:

1. Navigate to the *Users* page.
2. Click the user you want to deactivate access for.
3. Click **Disable Flow access**.

Directly removing access from Flow is not required. Once Flow access ends for your organization, users will no longer be able to access any Flow data, regardless of how they usually have accessed Flow.