---
title: "Add and remove approvers"
canonical: "https://support.appfire.com/space/PAFS/2214757330/Add%20and%20remove%20approvers"
format: markdown
---
> Macro (aura-html)

You can add or remove approvers from the [Page Approval](https://appfire.atlassian.net/wiki/pages/createpage.action?spaceKey=pafs&title=Page%20Approval&linkCreation=true&fromPageId=2214757330) macro added to a page. You can do this by adding users in the macro editor before adding the Page Approval macro or on the page after the macro has been added and the page published.

# Adding approvers

There are two options to add approvers using the Page Approval macro:

**Add users in the macro editor before adding the macro**

> ℹ️ The user requires permission to edit the page

- Create a Page Approval macro in a Confluence page
- Choose **Edit** on the Page Approval macro

![image-20250721-125716.png](media://d1b98758-906e-419e-8573-74e14f0c4d77)

- Add users into the **Users** and, or the **Approval Groups** field

**Add users after the macro has been added to the page**

> 📝 The user needs permission to view the page.

- Navigate to a page with a Page Approval macro
- Choose **Register** to add yourself as an approver

![padc_add-after_approver_using registerbutton.png](media://179c8ea4-a3d1-4e61-b32e-8d9628af9c70)

# Removing approvers

Similarly, there are two options to remove approvers using the Page Approval macro.

> ℹ️ You must be the Confluence administrator to view the (trash bin icon) button of other users.

**Remove users in the macro editor**

- Edit the page with the Page Approval macro
- Choose **Edit** on the Page Approval macro
- Select the cross icon to remove the user

![padc_macroeditor_approver_remove-after_approver.png](media://75a06a5c-c857-4c36-8971-1990e0b68359)

- Then, click **Save **and publish the page

On the page:

- Select **Unregister** (trash bin icon) to remove the user as an approver

> 📝 If the user is added as an approver in the macro editor, the user needs to be removed in the macro editor first and then unregistered in the page.
> 📝 
> 📝 If you click the **Unregister** button without removing the user in the macro editor, the user cannot be removed.

**Remove users after the macro has been added**

- Navigate to the page with the Page Approval macro
- Choose **Unregister** (trash bin icon) to remove the user as an approver

![padc_onpage_approver_remove-after.png](media://f9ace8dc-a74a-4d0d-9389-63277f458290)

> 📝 If the user is added using the **Register** button, the user does not appear in the **Users** field when viewing it using the macro editor.