---
title: "Create new team based on Jira group"
canonical: "https://support.appfire.com/space/SPM/1918702803/Create%20new%20team%20based%20on%20Jira%20group"
format: markdown
---
> Macro (aura-html)

## Create new team based on Jira group (old navigation)

<details>
<summary>Expand</summary>

Box editors and admins can create a team based on a Jira group: 

1. Click the **plus +** button in the **Teams module**.
2. Select **Create new team based on Jira group**.** **
3. Fill in the team details (required fields are marked with a red asterisk).
4. When ready, click **Create**.
5. The name of the Jira group is displayed next to the team name.

## Membership period

The membership period has only a start date with no specified end date.

## Synchronization

The synchronization has to be manually triggered.

Changes made in a Jira group, such as adding or removing members, are reflected in BigPicture after the synchronization.

### Manually triggered

You can manually initiate the synchronization at any point. 

The synchronization is performed only for the box you are in. The team is not updated in other boxes (boxes that inherited the team)

To initiate the synchronization:

1. Click the **Synchronize** button at the top menu in the Teams module.
2. To confirm, click **Synchronize**.

## Assign an existing team to a box

You can allocate a team to upper and lower-level boxes. If you want the team to be used in multiple boxes, you can create it in the **Home (root)** box and assign it to lower-level boxes. 

## Duplicate teams

You can duplicate a team based on a Jira group.

## Availability

The initial availability of all team members is set to 100%. 

To change the availability of a team member:

1. Click on a team to open the **Details** panel.
2. Under the **Members** tab, select a member by clicking on their name.
3. Enter the new values:
  1. Start date
  2. Availability
4. Click the **plus +** icon to confirm.
5. The new membership is visible on the list.

The video presents how to change availability for a team member.

![Video on how to change availability for a team member](media://1c78687a-a003-4c08-8523-66e00457035a)

> 📝 When you go back to the overview of team members, you see only the currently applicable memberships. Any memberships that have a future start date won't be listed until they are current.

## Limitations

### Existing teams

Existing teams based on members cannot be synchronized with a Jira group. This option is available only during the creation process.

### Single-use

If you have already created a team based on a Jira group, **you can't create another team based on the same Jira group**.

You can duplicate a team or assign an existing team to upper/lower level boxes.

### Mixed membership

If a team is based on a Jira group, you can't add individual users to expand the team. The team is based on a Jira group only.

### Jira group assignement

You can't change the Jira group a team is based on. The field can't be edited.

![Screenshot of the Details tab of a Jira-based team in the Teams module.](media://ebeb1b5d-dd23-4278-854e-a6ab1cdc1f47)
</details>

## Create new team based on Jira group (new navigation)

<details>
<summary>Expand</summary>

Box editors and admins can create a team based on a Jira group: 

1. Select **Teams** in the Teams module.
2. Select **Create new**, and then **Team based on Jira group**.
3. Fill in the team details (required fields are marked with a red asterisk).
4. When ready, click **Create**.
5. The indicator of a team being based on a Jira group is displayed next to the team name.

## Membership period

The membership period has only a start date with no specified end date.

## Synchronization

The synchronization has to be manually triggered.

Changes made in a Jira group, such as adding or removing members, are reflected in BigPicture after the synchronization.

### Manually triggered

You can manually initiate the synchronization at any point. 

The synchronization is performed only for the box you are in. The team is not updated in other boxes (boxes that inherited the team)

To initiate the synchronization:

1. Click the **Synchronize** button at the top menu in the Teams module.
2. To confirm, click **Synchronize**.

## Assign an existing team to a box

You can allocate a team to upper and lower-level boxes. If you want the team to be used in multiple boxes, you can create it in the **Home (root)** box and assign it to lower-level boxes. 

## Duplicate teams

You can duplicate a team based on a Jira group.

## Availability

The initial availability of all team members is set to 100%. 

To change the availability of a team member:

1. Click on a team to open the **Details** panel.
2. Under the **Members** tab, select a member by clicking on their name.
3. Enter the new values:
  1. Start date
  2. Availability
4. Click the **plus +** icon to confirm.
5. The new membership is visible on the list.

The video presents how to change availability for a team member.

> 📝 When you go back to the overview of team members, you see only the currently applicable memberships. Any memberships that have a future start date won't be listed until they are current.

## Limitations

### Existing teams

Existing teams based on members cannot be synchronized with a Jira group. This option is available only during the creation process.

### Single-use

If you have already created a team based on a Jira group, **you can't create another team based on the same Jira group**.

You can duplicate a team or assign an existing team to upper/lower level boxes.

### Mixed membership

If a team is based on a Jira group, you can't add individual users to expand the team. The team is based on a Jira group only.

### Jira group assignement

You can't change the Jira group a team is based on. The field can't be edited.
</details>