---
title: "How to delete groups using CSV"
canonical: "https://support.appfire.com/space/SUPPORT/89129383/How%20to%20delete%20groups%20using%20CSV"
format: markdown
---
This article explains a simple and efficient way to delete multiple groups using a CSV file.   
Follow the instructions in this article to delete groups in a matter of minutes.

# Instructions:

1. Construct a CSV file with the column name group and add the required group values you want to remove. In the example, we want to remove the groups:
2. Name the file *groups.csv*. It is suggested to use groups.csv file for simplification.
3. Run the action using the newly created CSV file:


> ⚠️ Note that **removing a group in Jira is an **<span style="color: #bf2600">**irreversible**</span>** action**.
> ⚠️ 
> ⚠️ Removing a group in Jira causes the members of that group to lose access to settings and resources  that were specific to that group such as:
> ⚠️ 
> ⚠️ - Projects
> ⚠️ - Issues
> ⚠️ - Permissions
> ⚠️ - Notifications
> ⚠️ 
> ⚠️ This can significantly affect the workflow and productivity of team members, as well as the communication and the work of team members who were not part of that group but were dependent on the permissions, notifications, or other settings specific to that group.
> ⚠️ 
> ⚠️ Before proceeding in removing a group, double check the group that you want to remove, and ensure that you understand the consequences of this action.  
> ⚠️ It is also recommended to have a **backup of your data to avoid any data loss**.
> ⚠️ 
> ⚠️ To view how to back up data, check:  
> ⚠️ [https://confluence.atlassian.com/adminjiraserver/backing-up-data-938847673.html](https://confluence.atlassian.com/adminjiraserver/backing-up-data-938847673.html)

> ℹ️ If a **default group is removed**, the new default group is set to** jira-users**.   
> ℹ️ Users from the deleted group are then added to the jira-users group and lose access to the specific permissions and schemes that the default group had.